Skip to content

GE Type TP-13 Regulated PSU

January 22, 2015

Having decided to dispose of my collection, this is the first item I put on ebay and it sold in the first day, clearly I priced it too low at $135 however, it is the first thing I have ever sold on ebay, live and learn!
My ebay name is triodeguy.
I have many items that have not yet made it to the blog and as I sell them I will post the description and pictures so as at complete this documentation project, albeit without the technical and restoration narrative.
Here is the description I used on ebay:
GE regulated power supply used to power a transmitter modulator. Who knows, you may have listened to your favorite station when powered by this unit!
I fitted a terminal block to the cut wire ends. The wire nut connects the line to the B+ transformer to allow the B+ to be remotely switched. A B+ time delay could be installed here.
The raw B+ supply is configured as choke input, given that the massive 10H choke is rated for 340mA and that there are 3 6AS7/6080 series tubes, I would expect this power supply to be conservatively rated for 300mA.
The rotary switch allows the meter to indicate total current, current through each section of each series tube or output voltage.
I have powered it up and it delivers 300V DC that can be varied from 255V to 415V.
I load tested from no load to 300mA (at 300V) and the voltage did not shift more than a volt however, it IS old and I will not guarantee your satisfacton.
This is pro gear and has just one electrolytic capacitor, the rest are paper in oil.
Use vintage the pictures to form your own impression of the condition of this unit, NOTE, while testing it, I did find one dead 6AS7 section so I replaced that tube with a good 6080.
Again, being vintage, I DO NOT guarantee proper operation so this unit is sold as is.
It weighs 58 lb and measures 13″ x 10.5″ x 18.5″
And here are the pictures I used:
1 GE PSU LEFT ASPECT

2 GE PSU METER

3 GE PSU TOP

4 GE PSU LABEL

5 GE PSU B+ AND HEATER XFMR

6 GE PSU CHOKE

7 GE PSU UNDERSIDE

8 GE PSU SWITCH

9 GE PSU WARNING

From → All Posts

2 Comments
  1. Richard, I would like to “Follow” your Seller name on eBay so that get a chance to bid on your listings. Can you share that?

    • Hi.
      Thanks for your input, it had occurred to me to do that about 5 minutes before your comment flagged up on my ‘phone!
      It is triodeguy. I am a novice seller so things may be slow to start as I find my way however, I also have a wealth of vintage parts to sell so I may create an ebay store at some point.

Leave a Reply

